Following the call for projects “Physical devices and software for intelligent supervision of biomethane production facilities” launched by GRDF in May and June 2020, some 50 innovative companies, Research and start-up laboratories made proposals for improving monitoring of methanisation sites. 9 projects were selected following the analysis of the files, and continue the selection process.

Three categories were created, three “sensor” projects, three “man-machine software or interfaces” projects and three “predictive maintenance” proposals. We invite you to discover each of these innovative companies in a series of articles.

  • The solution as you would explain it to your grandmother

The solution we presented – “Predict Adapt” – helps the operators of methanisation plants to avoid unexpected shutdowns and to reduce the associated costs. This means eliminating curative maintenance costs and production downtime.

Predict-Adapt detects and identifies the onset of any type of failure (mechanical, electrical, or process), and gives the operator sufficient notice for the necessary maintenance actions to be scheduled.

Our source of information is a fine analysis of the electrical signal that supplies every machine in the installation. The very slight variations in this signal tell us about the health of the machine. All of the machines can be monitored, whether this concerns the handling of the inputs and digestates, or the injection and recovery side.

Data can be displayed and alerts received on a PC or phone. This is advantageous both for local operators, who can prioritise their service actions, and for a central supervision team, which consolidates the data.

  • The key word (concept) to understand

The key idea is about unexpected shutdowns and their consequences:

The total cost of a shutdown can sometimes be inordinately high. It includes the call-out time for an expert, the necessary parts, and above all, a loss of production affecting all or part of the facility.

There is a human impact also, because half of accidents involving people occur during non-routine actions (emergency maintenance, start-up).

In short: these events have a significant human and financial impact on the company. Avoiding them is a must.

  • The key selling point, THE real difference in the market

Our solution is probably the only one that provides true scalability, thanks to how easy it is to install and operate, and its controlled cost:

  • it is designed to monitor all types of machine,
  • it is installed in the same way on all machines, at very low cost,
  • the box is standalone and lasts for the entire lifetime of the machine,
  • its operation does not require any special skills.

If any one of these qualities were lacking, the highly valuable scalability would be lost. As an additional selling point, we could also envisage using our solutions to report information arriving from other sensors.

PROJECT PROMOTERS

  • The team, how the project evolved, the issues

Laurent Laparra started out by setting up an energy-saving consultancy business, advising companies. In 2015, when a team was recruited and a first solution was launched, the company was transformed into a real tech startup.

Eco-Adapt integrates the latest advanced IoT (Internet of Things) technologies to offer Power-Adapt: a simple, exhaustive, and affordable solution to track energy consumption and ambient factors in buildings and industry.

It then became apparent that more could be achieved by making the whole wealth of data contained in electrical signals more accessible in terms of cost and ease of reading. Predict-Adapt was born!

To do this, the team stabilised with around a dozen people with very technical backgrounds. It then brought together all the expertise required for the solution to be able to acquire a raw signal and then process it automatically and return its essence via a web app.

The next step will be to ramp up the number of machines monitored, and the team will probably grow too!

  • What excites him

To bring cutting edge technology to the greatest possible number of operators easily and at moderate cost. We are constantly testing new things in-house, and then on a pilot basis with customers. Large-scale deployment is very satisfying.

  • The popular misconception that irritates him

In general, the simplistic mystique that surrounds Big Data, Artificial Intelligence, and their ability to fulfil any human role.

When approaching a subject it might seem simple, so you see startups offering miraculous solutions and riding high on big promises. But those promises turn out to be difficult to keep with AI alone. The fundamental role of the human being, sometimes the professional expert or the data scientist, which is necessary to deliver value, is sometimes obscured by all of the marketing talk. But it reappears in the structural, integration, and consultancy costs!

To avoid this aberration, we had to stand firm and be able to keep repeating the definition of our target: delimit the service provided by the solution, its architecture, and how it integrates into existing operating processes. We also had to push our understanding of the topic very far to gain the perspective and the control required to develop this solution. We had to process countless tests, pilots, and special cases in order to reach a reliable solution. It’s a real challenge, and it takes time.

THE FUTURE

  • What being selected by GRDF would mean for the development of your business

Even though it involves some well-known machines, biomethane is a new segment for us, and this selection is the opportunity to get right to the heart of the subject alongside GRDF, which operates on a national scale, has good technical perspective, and has real ambition for methanisation and biomethane in France, looking ahead to 2030. It’s fascinating.

We hope to be able to contribute the experience we have gained in areas such as water management and renewable energies (wind). Biomethane shares some of the challenges of those sectors, because of the industrial and diffuse nature of the production facilities.

Our value is twofold:

Predict-Adapt makes it easy to send the essence of the data obtained from our machine monitoring both to parties all over the country (operators and local maintenance services) and to a central entity (e.g. supervision and consolidation of GRDF data).

And thanks to Power-Adapt architecture, we can also envisage retrieving data from process sensors, in particular for the analysis of biogases, for production estimates, or anything concerning the integrity of the installations (leak detection, etc.).

  • The main challenges in the sector as a whole

Certain renewable energy sources must face the challenge of intermittence, of storage. Biomethane has some major advantages, and if we succeed in making the most of them, it can play a major part. For energy consumers, it provides a well-managed supply of renewable gas that is not badly affected by intermittence and is storable. For suppliers of inputs and local companies that handle operations, it also lets them recover organic materials from their territories.

  • And, more particularly, the main challenges for the future?

To take full advantage of these strengths, the challenge is to achieve the widespread efficient and durable exploitation of deposits. For our part, we know that our solution meets the needs of biogas. We are ready to guide its development.

The maintenance problems, needs, and the market arising from them, are global. We therefore also support companies in other sectors or other regions. In particular, we can mention Deutsche Bahn (the German railway operator), which has placed its trust in us.

RAPID-FIRE QUESTIONS // THE ENTREPRENEURIAL EXPERIENCE

  • They are soon going to pitch in front of the GRDF panel; no doubt it’s not the first time. Any anecdotes to share with us?

I have a quirky memory of one pitch session with a Russian company during lockdown. The panel’s Zoom backdrops were definitely out of step with the usually serious nature of these meetings: the Open-Innovation Manager was floating in front of the Milky Way, and the VP Operations was at the wheel of his Ferrari!

  • Your first thought each morning?

It goes out to the people on call, called out, or woken up by a failure that could have been prevented. Their tiredness could then go on to create other problems. We must try to liberate them from those stresses.

  • Your first real professional satisfaction

Having earned the trust of equipment suppliers who embed our technology to satisfy the availability targets of their end-user customers.

  • The best pep talk you have ever received?

I will quote a piece of advice instead: “Preparation is key!”

  • Mantra or phrase that you often repeat

Thoughts involving the well-known 80/20 rule.

  • A personal quality?

Curiosity

  • A short message to convince the panel?

“The biggest risk is never taking risks.” Let’s get to work!

A la suite de l’appel à projets “Dispositifs physiques et logiciels pour une supervision intelligente des installations de production de biométhane” lancé par GRDF en mai et juin 2020, une cinquantaine d’entreprises innovantes, laboratoires de recherche et de startups ont fait leurs propositions permettant une amélioration du monitoring des sites de méthanisation. 9 projets ont été choisies à l’issue de l’analyse des dossiers, et poursuivent le parcours de sélection.

Trois catégories ont été créées, 3 projets concernant les “capteurs”, 3 projets concernant des “logiciels ou interfaces homme-machine” et enfin 3 propositions concernant la “maintenance prédictive”. Nous vous proposons de découvrir chacun de ces entreprises innovantes dans une série d’articles.

  • La solution expliquée à une grand mère 

La solution que nous avons présenté – “Predict Adapt”- aide les exploitants d’installations de méthanisation à éviter les arrêts imprévus et à en réduire les coûts associés. C’est-à-dire se passer des coûts de maintenance curative et ne pas subir de manque à produire.

Predict-Adapt détecte et identifie tout type d’amorce de panne (d’origine mécanique, électrique ou procédés) et prévient l’exploitant suffisamment à l’avance pour lui permettre de planifier les actions de maintenance nécessaires.

Notre source d’information est l’analyse fine du signal électrique qui alimente chaque machine de l’installation. Les très légères altérations de ce signal nous renseignent sur l’état de santé de la machine. Toutes les machines peuvent être suivies, que ce soit côté manutention des intrants et digestats ou côté injection et valorisation. 

La visualisation des données et la réception d’alerte peut se faire sur un PC ou un téléphone. Cela profite donc aussi bien aux exploitants locaux qui peuvent prioriser leurs interventions, qu’à une équipe de supervision centrale, qui consolide les données.

  • Le mot (concept) clé à bien comprendre 

La notion centrale, c’est celle d’arrêt imprévu et ses conséquences: 

Le coût total d’un arrêt est parfois démesuré. Il inclut le temps et le déplacement d’un expert, les pièces nécessaires et surtout le manque à produire de toute ou partie de l’installation.

L’impact humain aussi, car la moitié des accidents de personne arrive sur des actions non routinières (démarrage, maintenance en urgence). 

En bref, ces événements ont un impact humain et financier important pour l’entreprise. Il est impératif de les éviter.

  • L’argument clé, LA vraie différence, sur le marché 

Notre solution est probablement la seule qui rende possible un véritable passage à l’échelle grâce à sa simplicité d’installation et d’exploitation et son coût maîtrisé:

  • elle est conçue pour surveiller tous les types de machines,
  • elle s’installe de la même manière sur toutes les machines, à un coût très réduit,
  • le boitier est autonome et pérenne sur toute la durée de vie de la machine, 
  • elle ne nécessite pas compétence spécifique pour être exploitée. 

S’il manquait une seule de ces qualités, on perdrait la très précieuse “scalabilité”. Pour finir de convaincre, on peut aussi imaginer se servir de nos solutions pour remonter des informations provenant d’autres capteurs.

LES PORTEURS DE PROJET

L’équipe, l’évolution du projet, les enjeux 

Au départ, Laurent Laparra a lancé une activité de conseil en économie d’énergie pour les entreprises. Puis en 2015, le recrutement d’une équipe et le lancement d’une première solution transforme la société en une véritable start-up du monde de la tech.

Eco-Adapt intègre les dernières avancées des technologies de l’IoT (internet des objets) pour offrir Power-Adapt: une solution simple, exhaustive et abordable pour le suivi des consommations d’énergie et de facteurs ambiants, dans les bâtiments et l’industrie.  

On prend alors conscience qu’on peut aller plus loin en rendant accessible, en termes de coût et de simplicité de lecture, toute la richesse informationnelle des signaux électriques. Predict-Adapt est né! 

Pour y arriver, l’équipe se stabilise autour d’un douzaine de personnes aux profils très techniques. Elle rassemble dès lors toutes les compétences nécessaires pour que la solution sache acquérir un signal brut, puis le traiter automatiquement jusqu’à en restituer l’essence à travers une web app.

L’étape suivante sera celle de l’accélération en nombre de machines suivies et très probablement une croissance pour l’équipe aussi!

  • Le truc qui le passionne 

Amener la pointe de la technologie au plus grand nombre des exploitants de manière simple, à coût maîtrisé. On teste constamment de nouvelles choses en interne, puis avec des clients à l’échelle de pilotes. Le déploiement à grande échelle est une vraie satisfaction. 

  • L’idée reçue qui l’exaspère

D’une manière générale, la mystique simpliste qui se dessine autour des “big data”, de l’intelligence artificielle et de leur capacité à se substituer à tout rôle humain.

En abordant un sujet on peut le croire simple, on voit donc des startups portant des solutions miracles qui surfent sur la base de promesses fortes. Mais au final ces promesses se révèlent difficiles à tenir par l’IA seule. Le rôle fondamental de l’humain, parfois de l’expert métier ou du data scientist, nécessaire pour livrer la valeur, est occulté dans les discours marketing. Il réapparaît pourtant dans les coûts de structure, d’intégration, de conseil!

Pour éviter ce travers, il nous a fallu être intransigeant et savoir itérer sur la définition de notre cible: délimiter le service rendu par la solution, son architecture, et comment elle s’intègre dans des processus d’exploitation existants. Il nous a aussi fallu pousser très loin la compréhension du sujet pour retrouver le recul et la maîtrise nécessaires au développement de cette solution. On ne compte plus le nombre de tests, de pilotes, de cas particuliers traités pour amener une solution fiable. C’est un vrai défi et cela prend du temps.

L’AVENIR 

  • Ce que représente votre sélection par GRDF dans le développement de l’activité 

Même si l’on y retrouvera des machines bien connues, le biométhane est un nouveau segment pour nous et cette sélection est l’opportunité de se placer dans le coeur du sujet aux côtés de GRDF, qui a une envergure nationale, un bon recul technique et porte une réelle ambition à horizon 2030 sur la méthanisation et le biométhane en France. C’est passionnant.

Nous espérons pouvoir apporter notre expérience tirée de domaines comme la gestion de l’eau et les énergies renouvelables (éolien). En effet, le biométhane partage certains des enjeux de ces secteurs, du fait du caractère industriel et diffus des installations de production.

Notre valeur est double: 

Predict-Adapt permet de restituer de manière simple l’essence des informations issues de notre suivi machine, à la fois à des acteurs répartis sur le territoire (exploitants et mainteneurs locaux) et en central (supervision et consolidation des données GRDF par exemple). 

Et grâce à l’architecture de Power-Adapt nous pouvons aussi envisager la récupération des données provenant des capteurs procédés, notamment pour l’analyse du biogaz, pour l’estimation de la production, ou ceux ayant trait à l’intégrité des installations (détection de fuite…).

  • Les grands défis du secteur en général 

Certaines sources d’énergie renouvelables doivent relever le défi de l’intermittence, du stockage. Le biométhane a de beaux atouts en main et si on arrive à les jouer, il peut prendre un grand rôle: aux consommateurs d’énergie, il permet une fourniture de gaz renouvelable (si bien géré), peu sujette à l’intermittence et est stockable. Aux fournisseurs d’intrants et des acteurs locaux réalisant l’exploitation, il permet en outre la valorisation des matières organiques des territoires.

  • Et plus particulièrement, les principaux enjeux pour demain ?

Pour profiter pleinement de ces points forts, le défi est celui de la généralisation d’une exploitation efficace et durable des gisements. De notre côté, on sait que notre solution est adaptée aux besoins du biogaz. On est prêts à accompagner son développement.

Les problématiques de maintenance, les besoins et le marché qui en découlent sont mondiaux. On accompagne donc aussi des entreprises d’autres secteurs ou d’autres géographies. On citera notamment la Deutsche Bahn (l’équivalent allemand de la SNCF) qui nous fait confiance.

CLIN D’OEIL // EXPERIENCE ENTREPRENEUR

  • Ils vont pitcher devant le jury GRDF prochainement et ce n’est sans doute pas la première fois. Une anecdote à partager ?

Un souvenir décalé d’une séance de pitch avec une entreprise russe durant le confinement. Les arrières plans “Zoom” du jury tranchaient clairement avec le sérieux habituel de cet exercice: le responsable open-innovation flottait devant la voie lactée, le directeur de l’exploitation était au volant de sa Ferrari!

  • Première pensée chaque matin ?  

Elle va aux personnes d’astreinte, mobilisées voire réveillées par une panne qui aurait pu être évitée. Au final, la fatigue risque de générer d’autres problèmes. Il faut leur permettre de s’affranchir de ces contraintes.

  • Première véritable satisfaction professionnelle 

Le fait d’avoir bénéficié de la confiance d’équipementiers qui embarquent notre technologie pour répondre aux objectifs de disponibilité chez les clients finaux.

  • Meilleur encouragement que vous ayez jamais reçu ?

Je citerai plutôt un conseil: “ça se prépare!” 

  • Mantra ou la phrase que vous répétez souvent

Des pensées autour du fameux “80-20”

  • Une qualité personnelle 

La curiosité

  • Un petit message pour séduire le jury ? 

“Le plus gros risque est celui de ne jamais en prendre”. Rentrons dans le concret!