Following the call for projects “Physical devices and software for intelligent supervision of biomethane production facilities” launched by GRDF in May and June 2020, some 50 innovative companies, Research and start-up laboratories made proposals for improving monitoring of methanisation sites. 9 projects were selected following the analysis of the files, and continue the selection process.

Three categories were created, three “sensor” projects, three “man-machine software or interfaces” projects and three “predictive maintenance” proposals. We invite you to discover each of these innovative companies in a series of articles.

THE SOLUTION as you would explain it to your grandmother

Our solution is based on a measurement principle that is commonly found in households: the neon tube, also known in more scientific terms as a discharge tube.

The principle is simple: a voltage excites the gas, which responds by displaying a colour. Each gas has its own colour, and for neon, it’s white. In this physical context, the colour represents the identity of the gas.

Our principle is therefore to cause the emission of colours in a mixture of gases to identify them and measure their concentrations using a small sensor (1 cm by 3 cm) that samples the gas and a camera that takes a picture of this light, so that the composition of the gas can be determined.

The key word (concept) to understand?

“Multi-gas” Our sensor simultaneously measures the concentrations of the gases in a mixture, whatever the mixture might be.

The key selling point, THE real difference in the market?

In fact, our principle is unique and it is versatile: our sensor is not specific to a particular mixture. It can be calibrated for any gaseous mixture, according to

  • the type of mixture
  • the number of gases to measure
  • the precision to be obtained, down to PPM. According to the required precision, we can adapt the type of CCD camera so that it outputs the relevant information for the analysis
  • and according to the level of investment: it guarantees a reasonable purchase cost and operating cost. Because the sensor is always identical irrespective of the business application, it is not expensive

to produce. It is mainly the camera that changes. Moreover, optical measurement is stable over time, so there is no recalibration, no wear…maintenance is simple, involving things like replacing a filter to protect the camera from impurities, which anyone can do. And it is portable too

We chose to develop two sensors with two different modes of operation:

  • EasyTuse, which is intended to continuously analyse the quality of the biogas at the output of each digester according to the inputs. It also monitors whether there are any leaks before the filtration stage. Its price must remain low so that it can be deployed at every outlet of landfill tanks. It is designed to operate in an IoT environment.
  • PolyProSS is intended to be versatile in all other phases: through quick, frequent measurements (every 5 to 30 seconds, according to need), it tracks the composition of the methane throughout its treatment by simultaneously measuring 14 gaseous compounds, including trace gases, with high precision in PPM and %.
  • For the operator, it guarantees fast monitoring of the quality level or “environmental purity” of the biogas delivered to the network operator, and also detects leaks. Because it is portable, it can be moved to small plants if necessary. ATEX certification is possible.

PROJECT PROMOTERS Journeys, associates, partners, etc…the path leading up to the creation of this solution

Catherine Bellet and Gabriel Portillot created Partelec in 1989, partnering with Mitsubishi Electric to become the French distributors of memory cards dedicated to devices that are subject to vibration loads, where it is difficult to use magnetic hard disks to store data or programs. And, in other international operations: we became the importers of the first smartphones…

At that time, our feeling was that the import market was volatile and unstable, hence dangerous for a company in the long term.

In 2010, we decided to develop our own research and create our own intellectual property.

We both have a technical background; Gabriel is a hardware and software engineer, and we are surrounded by people with cutting-edge expertise to launch the design of new products. We started in medical imaging, especially telemedicine solutions for remote diagnosis. In that first project, the question of image processing without perceptual loss already arose. In health, the requirements in terms of quality of image restitution, compression, and display must be demonstrated by clinical tests carried out by healthcare professionals.

All of this required us to achieve total and verifiable control of our tools and optronics software… which allowed us to create the optical design of our multi-gas sensor. Later, we were chosen to design and create a centralised virtual platform incorporating a diagnostic console in telemedicine mode for next-generation electroencephalograms. This history means that today we have the skills to be able to offer automated measurements combined with the centralisation of our sensor results.

That is why we invested 10 years in joint research projects with FUI, CIFRE, and

FEDER. Those collaborative projects allowed us to work in an environment of excellence during our ten years of R&D with laboratories such as UMPC, ETIS, INSERM, LIS, and AP-HP on the academic side. On the industrial side, we have been able to work with a number of highly reputable players: for the sensor, TELEDYNE OLDHAM SIMTRONICS, and for the part involving both “field” and technological skills, we are partners with GaiaNnov.

The major challenges that Partelec wanted to address:

Our research work and its applications mainly concern energy and its impacts: the automotive sector, with the monitoring of pollutant gases, air pollution, the petroleum sector, with the monitoring of high-risk gases such as H2S, the energy sector, such as natural gas for the production of electricity with or without hydrogen, the biogas sector, such as methanisation, etc. Wherever there are gases to monitor.

In the context of biogases, the focus is on monitoring the methanisation chain, with the challenge of automating the whole chain so that those involved can get control of all the constraints they need to manage, and therefore they need a sensor to measure and collect the necessary information.

What excites her

I have been involved in these project for ten years, and this is really what drives me: to succeed in demonstrating that the disruptive technology of our sensor can solve present-day expert analysis problems. I want to persuade big players to invest in this technology and to deploy it.

  • The popular misconception that irritates her

It’s not a misconception, but the mismatch between our enthusiasm, our conviction that our solution is functional, effective, and fit for purpose, on the one hand, and all the hoops we still need to jump through to persuade others to bet on it to get past the prototype stage, on the other hand. We have obtained research tax credit (Crédit Impôt Recherche) approval; that’s a powerful argument!

THE FUTURE

  • What selection by GRDF means

Being convinced that your solution is not enough, we need the support of a major player like GRDF to obtain funding from additional customers or investors to industrialise and deploy our product.

This big project brings together our main skills, and we are very excited about it.

  • The main challenges in the sector as a whole

Government requirements are obliging manufacturers in this sector to change and to invest by automating their entire methanisation chain to grow their production of green energy. We must go along with these requirements, particularly respect for the environment, but also lowering the cost, with sensors able to be efficient from end to end, contributing to increased productivity, monitoring all of the compounds, addressing the whole methanisation chain with a process accessible to all in terms of expertise and costs.

  • And, more particularly, the main challenges for the future?

The challenge for us is a financial one, since the technological barriers have already been lifted. ATEX certification is an important step, and we already know how to obtain it from the technological point of view.

Because our technical investments are finished, we are ready and we have a demonstrator to undertake and complete the business adaptations required by our future customers.

RAPID-FIRE QUESTIONS // THE ENTREPRENEURIAL EXPERIENCE

  • Your first thought each morning?

It’s a feeling more than a thought: I feel kind of impatient to get this done!

I can’t wait to move on to the next stage, to meet creative people who are good listeners, who are not afraid to take a chance on something new, and who are willing to take a little time to find a well adapted solution. We need a year; that’s a short time, but it seems long to people who are looking for turnkey solutions.

  • Your first real professional satisfaction / best pep talk you have ever received?

For our very first research project with FEDER, we received funding from the European Commission. Above and beyond its financial value, I saw this as recognition of the value of our work to the community. I took that as encouragement, which goes beyond the company… with the common good in mind

  • Mantra or phrase that you often repeat Don’t let go of anything!
  • A personal quality that sums you up: Combativeness
  • A short message to convince the panel?

We are very proud of the ‘Field’ opportunities that our sensor can bring to the biogas industry. Professionals in that sector need more competitive controlled biogas to be able to satisfy the needs of the energy transition

We need GRDF in order to find THE right partner: you can help a French company to capitalise on the potential of its new sensor in applications that are difficult to cope with using the current solutions.

A la suite de l’appel à projets “Dispositifs physiques et logiciels pour une supervision intelligente des installations de production de biométhane” lancé par GRDF en mai et juin 2020, une cinquantaine d’entreprises innovantes, laboratoires de recherche et de startups ont fait leurs propositions permettant une amélioration du monitoring des sites de méthanisation. 9 projets ont été choisies à l’issue de l’analyse des dossiers, et poursuivent le parcours de sélection.

Trois catégories ont été créées, 3 projets concernant les “capteurs”, 3 projets concernant des “ logiciels ou interfaces homme-machine ” et enfin 3 propositions concernant la “maintenance prédictive”. Nous vous proposons de découvrir chacun de ces entreprises innovantes dans une série d’articles.

LA SOLUTION expliquée à une grand-mère  

Notre solution est basée sur un principe de mesure qu’on peut rencontrer couramment dans toutes les maisons: le tube à néon, appelé scientifiquement tube à décharge.  

Le principe est simple : la tension excite le gaz, ce qui provoque une couleur. Chaque gaz a sa propre couleur et dans le cas du néon, c’est le blanc. Dans ce contexte physique, la couleur devient une identité du gaz. 

Notre principe est donc de provoquer une émission de couleurs dans un mélange de gaz pour les identifier et mesurer leurs concentrations, via un petit capteur (1cm sur 3) qui prélève le gaz et une caméra qui réalise une photo de cette lumière et permet d’en décrypter la composition. 

Le mot (concept) clé à bien comprendre  ? 

«​ Multi gaz​ » :  notre capteur mesure en simultanée les concentrations des gaz dans un mélange et ce, quel que soit le mélange.  

L’argument clé, LA vraie différence, sur le marché ? 

En fait, notre principe est « unique » et il est polyvalent :  notre capteur n’est pas spécifique pour un mélange donné, il peut être calibré pour n’importe quel mélange gazeux, que ce soit  

  • sur le type du mélange 
  • sur le nombre de gaz à mesurer 
  • sur la précision à obtenir, jusqu’au PPM. Selon le besoin de précisions, nous adapterons le type de caméra CCD pour qu’elle délivre les éléments pertinents pour l’analyse  
  • sur le niveau d’investissement adapté aussi : il garantit un coût raisonnable à l’achat comme en exploitation. Comme le capteur est toujours identique quelle que soit l’application métier, il n’est pas coûteux 

à produire, c’est principalement la caméra qui ​ change. Par ailleurs, la​ mesure optique est stable dans le temps, il n’y a pas de re calibration,  ni d’usure , la maintenance est simple comme le remplacement d’un filtre pour protéger la caméra des impuretés, ce que tout le monde peut faire. Et puis, il est  également « portatif »  

Nous avons fait le choix de développer 2 capteurs avec 2 fonctionnements distincts : 

  • EasyTuse qui est destiné à analyser en continu la qualité du biogaz à la sortie de chaque digesteur en fonction des intrants. Il surveille également s’il y a des fuites avant l’étape de filtration. Son prix doit rester faible pour permettre de le déployer à chaque sortie des cuves d’enfouissements. Il est conçu pour fonctionner dans un environnement IOT. 
  • PolyProSS  a vocation à  être polyvalent dans toutes les autres étapes, au travers de mesures rapides et fréquentes (toutes les 5 à 30 secondes suivant besoin), il effectue le suivi de la composition du méthane tout au long de son traitement par la mesure simultanée de 14 composés gazeux dont des gaz traces avec une haute précision en PPM et %.  
  • Il garantit à l’exploitant, un suivi rapide du niveau de qualité ou de « pureté environnementale » du biogaz livré à l’opérateur de réseau et également de détecter des fuites. Comme il est portatif, il peut être déplacé sur de petites exploitations si nécessaire. La certification ATEX est possible. 

LES PORTEURS DU PROJET : Parcours, associés, partenaires cheminement jusqu’à la création de cette solution 

Catherine Bellet &  Gabriel Portillot  ont créé Partelec en 1989 autour d’un partenariat avec Mitsubishi Electric pour distribuer en France des cartes mémoires dédiées aux appareils soumis à des contraintes vibratoires dans lesquels les disques durs magnétiques sont difficilement utilisables pour  stocker des données ou programmes. Puis toujours à l’international, nous sommes devenus importateurs des premiers smartphones…  

A ce moment là, notre sentiment était que le marché de l’importation était volatile et instable et donc  dangereux pour une entreprise à terme.  

En 2010, nous avons pris la décision de développer notre propre recherche pour créer notre propriété intellectuelle.  

Nous avons tous les deux un background technique, Gabriel est ingénieur matériel et logiciel et nous nous sommes entourés de personnes aux expertises hyper pointues pour lancer  la conception de nouveaux produits. En imagerie médicale au début, plus particulièrement sur des solutions de télémédecine permettant un diagnostic médical distant : on voit  déjà, sur ce premier projet, la question du traitement d’images sans perte perceptuelle. ​ En santé, les exigences en termes de qualité de​ restitution, de compression et d’affichage des images, doivent être démontrées par des essais cliniques effectués par des professionnels de santé.  

Tout ceci nous a imposé une maîtrise totale et vérifiable de nos outils et logiciels d’optronique … qui  nous a permis d’aboutir à la conception optique de notre capteur multi gaz. Par la suite, nous avons été retenus pour concevoir et réaliser une plateforme virtuelle centralisée intégrant une console de diagnostic en mode télémédecine pour des électro encéphalogramme de nouvelle génération. Ce parcours nous a assuré aujourd’hui la compétence de savoir proposer une automatisation des mesures combinée à une centralisation de nos résultats capteurs. 

Nous avons donc investi 10 années en projet de recherche collaboratifs FUI, CIFRE et 

FEDER. Ces projets collaboratifs nous ont permis de côtoyer l’excellence pendant nos 10 années de R&D auprés des laboratoires  UMPC, ETIS, INSERM, LIS, AP-HP côté académique. Côté industriel, nous avons pu collaborer avec différents acteurs de référence :  pour le capteur, TELEDYNE OLDHAM SIMTRONICS, pour la partie double compétence métiers « Terrain » et Technologique, nous sommes accompagnés par GaiaNnov.  

Les grands enjeux auxquels Partelec souhaitait répondre:  

Notre travail de recherche et ses applications concernent globalement les secteurs de l’énergie et leurs impacts : l’automobile avec la surveillance des gaz polluants, la pollution dans l’air, le secteur pétrolier avec la surveillance des gaz à risque tel que H2S, le secteur Énergie tel que le gaz naturel pour la production d’électricité avec ou sans Hydrogène, le secteur des Biogaz tel que la méthanisation… Partout où il y a des gaz à contrôler. 

Dans le contexte des Biogaz, le sujet central est celui de la surveillance de la chaîne de méthanisation, avec un enjeu d’automatisation de la chaîne complète pour que les acteurs puissent appréhender toutes les contraintes qu’ils ont à gérer et, de fait, un  besoin de  capteur pour mesurer et collecter les informations nécessaires.  

Le truc qui la passionne  

Je suis investie sur ces projets depuis 10 ans, c’est vraiment ce qui m’anime: réussir la démonstration que la technologie de rupture de notre capteur peut résoudre des problématiques actuelles d’expertises métiers. Je veux convaincre de grands acteurs d’investir sur cette technologie et de la déployer. 

  • L’idée reçue qui l’exaspère  

Ce n’est pas une idée reçue mais plutôt un décalage entre d’un côté notre enthousiasme, notre conviction que notre solution est fonctionnelle, efficace, adaptée aux besoins et de l’autre,  toutes les étapes à franchir encore pour convaincre qu’il faut miser dessus pour passer le cap du prototype. Nous avons obtenu l’approbation Crédit Impôt Recherche, c’est un argument de poids ! 

L’AVENIR  

  • Ce que représente la sélection par GRDF  

Être convaincue que votre solution ne suffit pas, l’appui d’un grand acteur comme GRDF nous est nécessaire pour obtenir des financements clients complémentaires ou d’investisseurs pour industrialiser et déployer notre produit. 

Ce grand projet est une convergence de nos compétences majeures que nous sommes très excités de mener à bien.  

  • Les grands défis du secteur en général 

Les exigences gouvernementales obligent les industriels de ce secteur à évoluer et à investir en automatisant toute leur chaîne de méthanisation pour accroître leur production d’énergie verte. Il faut accompagner ces exigences notamment de respect environnemental mais aussi de baisse de coût, avec des capteurs capables d’être efficients de bout en bout,  de contribuer à des gains de productivité, de surveiller tous les composés, d’adresser toute la chaîne de méthanisation avec un process accessible à tous, en termes d’expertise et de coûts.    

  • Et plus particulièrement, leurs principaux enjeux pour demain ?  

L’enjeu pour nous est d’ordre financier puisque les verrous technologiques ont déjà été levés.  La Certification ATEX est une étape importante, nous savons déjà technologiquement comment l’obtenir.  

Nos investissements techniques étant terminés, nous sommes prêts et disposons d’un démonstrateur pour entreprendre et mener à bien les adaptations métiers demandées par nos futurs clients.  

CLIN D’OEIL // EXPERIENCE ENTREPRENEUR  

  • Première pensée chaque matin ?  

Une sensation plus qu’une pensée: je ressens une forme d’impatience de voir se concrétiser cet aboutissement !  

J’ai hâte de passer à l’étape suivante, de rencontrer des personnes à l’écoute, créatifs, qui n’ont pas peur de parier sur la nouveauté et qui acceptent de prendre un peu de temps pour aboutir à une solution bien adaptée. Il nous faut un an, c’est court mais lointain pour ceux qui cherchent du clé en mains. 

  • Première véritable satisfaction professionnelle /  meilleur encouragement jamais reçu ?  

Sur notre tout premier projet de recherche FEDER,  nous avons reçu un financement de la commission européenne. Au delà de l’intérêt financier, j’y ai vu une reconnaissance de l’intérêt de nos travaux pour la collectivité. J’ai pris ça comme un encouragement, qui dépasse l’entreprise, … avec une  notion de bénéfice commun 

  • Votre mantra ou la phrase que vous répétez souvent  Ne lâche rien ! 
  • Une qualité personnelle qui vous définit bien  : La pugnacité 
  • Un petit message pour séduire le jury ?  

Nous sommes très fiers des opportunités « Terrains » que peut apporter notre capteur à l’industrie du Biogaz . Les professionnels de ce secteur ont besoin d’un biogaz maîtrisé plus compétitif pour répondre au besoin de la transition énergétique  

Nous avons besoin de GRDF pour trouver « LE » bon partenaire : vous pouvez aider une entreprise française à valoriser le potentiel de son nouveau capteur dans des applications difficiles à résoudre avec les solutions actuelles.