Following the call for projects “Physical devices and software for intelligent supervision of biomethane production facilities” launched by GRDF in May and June 2020, some 50 innovative companies, Research and start-up laboratories made proposals for improving monitoring of methanisation sites. 9 projects were selected following the analysis of the files, and continue the selection process.

Three categories were created, three “sensor” projects, three “man-machine software or interfaces” projects and three “predictive maintenance” proposals. We invite you to discover each of these innovative companies in a series of articles.

THE SOLUTION as you would explain it to your grandmother

It’s simple: machines can fall ill, so instead of their usual “click click” noise, they start saying “click clack”. That’s what our sensors hear: a strange noise will be a sign that the machines are not feeling well.

That’s Grandma’s version!

In summary, we listen to sounds and vibrations, and we are experts in the analysis of this data to see if everything is working well or if a maintenance operation needs to be scheduled.

To do this, we have developed Predict, an off-the-shelf sensor that is ready to use. These small sensors are affixed to a machine near a bearing or on the motor, for example. They are very quick and easy to install: you just need enough time for the glue to dry, and that’s it!

These sensors can be controlled with a smartphone app. They use the LoRa network, which sends the data collected to the cloud. A summary of this data is received in the app several times a day, and if irregularities appear in the summary, you can bring the smartphone near the machine and receive the raw data via a Bluetooth connection in order to make a more detailed analysis.

Wavely is also developing a customised offering to identify a specific sound automatically. This offering is structured in several stages: feasibility study, data acquisition, annotation, adaptation and driving of a machine learning model based on the annotated data set, deployment on a prototype, etc., right up to the industrialisation of a tailor-made solution.

  • The key word (concept) to understand

It’s hard to pick just one key word!

The key concept is ‘predictive’, which invokes machine learning and therefore artificial intelligence.

Predict is a communicating object. It can send data up to the cloud, with Artificial Intelligence embedded in the sensors to process the data acquired by the microphone, the accelerometers, etc.

This sensor is easy to use whilst including several embedded technologies, for efficient predictive maintenance.

  • The key selling point, THE real difference in the market

Our main added value is based on the combination of two possible modes of use in a single sensor: the simple mode with irregularity detection to monitor machines without any knowledge of vibration analysis, and expert mode to access the raw data and analyse it yourself. All of this is contained in a single sensor, without the need to take additional special measurements.

It’s a real difference, and it aligns with our philosophy: “Artificial intelligence is good; human intelligence is better.”

This is a solution designed to serve people, to allow them to understand the factors that lead the sensor to identify a malfunction. Artificial intelligence can identify the irregularity, but the possibility of retrieving the data allows the technicians to get to grips with the analysis.

PROJECT PROMOTERS

  • Journeys, associates, partners, etc.

In late 2015, Alexis Vlandas, CNRS researcher, Nicolas Côté, lecturer at an engineering school, started a research project on a system of acoustic sensors to detect noise in the context of the smart city.

A few months later, Marion Aubert, a graduate of Sciences Po and HEC, took an interest in their research, believing that it could give rise to the creation of a startup. She doesn’t have a scientific background, which gives her a different perspective on Wavely’s strategic development. What sparked her interest? An encounter, a good feeling, and the desire to take a ‘hard technology’ and industrial path, outside the areas where women often tend to work.

Alexis casts a scientific eye over the development of the solution. Nicolas specialises in the technical aspects of data processing and acoustics. Marion handles the sales and financial aspects.

In 2017, Wavely became a startup following a re-think about the market it wanted to target: the smart city is not yet a mature market, at least not with regard to noise issues. On the other hand, detection methods using noise are a real issue for the manufacturing sector. Industrial predictive maintenance therefore became Wavely’s core business.

The world of research is fascinated by technology, in-depth understanding, etc., but it stops at feasibility. We wanted to be able to transform our expertise into technologically and technically complex products in response to a customer need.

Wavely fine-tuned its positioning during its incubation at Euratechnologies, Lille, and then raised funds via Finovam and Fira, with additional support from Bpifrance.

The real acceleration came in 2017, when we signed a contract with acoustics design consultancy Sim Engineering for Total, for the acoustic detection of gas leaks.

  • Challenges

The aim is to convert laboratory innovation into a market-facing product. And also to create a company that reflects our values.

All three of us had the same vision of how a company should be, from a social and ecological standpoint, in terms of its approach to the work–life balance, etc. We wanted to show that we can create a company that respects those values without falling into the old cliché of a startup where people work hard, play hard, and then suffer from burnout. We place a lot of trust in our colleagues, giving them a great deal of autonomy and responsibility, and flexible working hours compatible with their personal lives. A game of table football in the afternoon and then finishing work at 10 PM might be very nice, but it’s not our way of doing things: going home to enjoy your personal life is important for everybody. We also want to look at some fundamental topics, and to become an example to others in a way that we aspire to but still need to work towards: the product life cycle, for example, and particularly the fate of the products, the origin of the components, the conditions for processing data obtained from AI, etc.

We want to operate our company in a way that limits our footprint…

  • What excites them

Carrying a research project right through to its conclusion and providing a response to a real customer problem

  • The popular misconception that irritates them:

There is an aura surrounding Artificial Intelligence leading to a belief that it is somehow magical, like a black box that we don’t really understand, and we wonder what it’s for… whereas in fact, it’s just a tool—nothing more and nothing less.

We want to succeed in showing that it can be applied to concrete problems that technicians would face, and above all that it will help them, not replace them.

THE FUTURE

  • What being selected by GRDF would mean for the development of the business

The opportunity to experiment on a use case with GRDF would be a great example; an interesting reference. We have done a lot of work with companies in the energy sector, so working with GRDF would be perfectly consistent. In addition, biomethane is a forward-looking topic, and Wavely would find it very interesting to contribute to that.

  • The main challenges in the sector as a whole

For maintenance, the real subject is instrumentation for equipment monitoring: less leakage (saving energy), machine lifetime, etc. The issues are both economic and ecological.

For energy, the ecological impact of production facilities is important, and the issues of leak reduction and safety are particularly so. For biomethane, in view of the decentralisation of units, technicians cannot be everywhere at all times, so delocalised solutions are required.

  • And, more particularly, the main challenges for the future?

We have done a lot of custom development for key accounts, whilst refining the Wavely Predict solution. Our challenge now is to market Wavely Predict whilst continuing to develop it to provide new features in accordance with specific needs. Our ambition is to go from detecting irregularities to diagnosis (identifying the source of the problem). That’s what we are working on.

Our international growth is currently happening via our French customers and their export sales.

RAPID-FIRE QUESTIONS // THE ENTREPRENEURIAL EXPERIENCE

  • They are soon going to pitch in front of the GRDF panel; no doubt it’s not the first time. Any anecdotes to share with us?

OK, so, speaking from experience, I’d appreciate it if we could avoid any specifically female-oriented questions! I want to talk about the project like other people (and as men would), not about the difficulties faced by women in industry or about combining multiple roles! (Marion Aubert)

  • Your first thought each morning?

I’m a lucky person!

  • Your first real professional satisfaction

The first contract we signed with Sim Engineering for Total! (Marion)

The first transfer of data from the sensors, which brought the project to life (Nicolas)

  • The best pep talk you have ever received?

What our mentors said to us during our incubation period. When experienced entrepreneurs remind us that it’s tough for everyone, that it’s normal to go through phases where things come in waves, and that you have to stick with it…that really lifts your spirits!

  • Mantra or phrase that you often repeat

“ Forget the mistake, remember the lesson”

  • A personal quality that sums you up

Collective intelligence

  • A short message to convince the panel?

We’re here to listen to you!

A la suite de l’appel à projets “Dispositifs physiques et logiciels pour une supervision intelligente des installations de production de biométhane” lancé par GRDF en mai et juin 2020, une cinquantaine d’entreprises innovantes, laboratoires de recherche et de startups ont fait leurs propositions permettant une amélioration du monitoring des sites de méthanisation. 9 projets ont été choisies à l’issue de l’analyse des dossiers, et poursuivent le parcours de sélection.

Trois catégories ont été créées, 3 projets concernant les “capteurs”, 3 projets concernant des “ logiciels ou interfaces homme-machine ” et enfin 3 propositions concernant la “maintenance prédictive”. Nous vous proposons de découvrir chacun de ces entreprises innovantes dans une série d’articles.

LA SOLUTION expliquée à une  grand mère 

C’est simple, les machines tombent malades et au lieu de faire leur clic clic habituel, elles se mettent à faire clic clac. C’est ce qu’entendent nos capteurs, un drôle de bruit sera le signe que les machines ne  vont pas bien. 

Ca, ce serait la version pour grand mère ! 

En résumé, nous écoutons les sons et les vibrations et sommes experts dans l’analyse de ces données pour voir si tout fonctionne bien ou s’il faut planifier une opération de maintenance. 

Pour cela, nous avons développé Predict, un capteur ‘sur étagère’,  prêt à l’emploi : petits, ils sont collés contre une machine au niveau, par exemple, du roulement ou sur le moteur. L’installation  est très simple et très rapide: il faut juste le temps que la colle sèche et c’est tout!

Ces capteurs sont pilotables avec une appli smartphone. Ils utilisent le réseau LoRa qui permet l’envoi des information collectées vers le cloud. La synthèse de ces datas est reçue sur l’appli, plusieurs fois par jour et  si la synthèse présente des anomalies,  on peut alors approcher le smartphone de la machine et accéder aux données brutes via une connexion Bluetooth pour procéder à une  analyse plus poussée. 

Wavely développe également une offre sur mesure pour identifier de façon automatique un son spécifique. Cette offre est structurée en plusieurs étapes : étude de faisabilité, acquisition de données, annotation, adaptation et entraînement d’un modèle de machine learning à partir du jeu de données annotées, déploiement sur un prototype… jusqu’à l’industrialisation d’une solution sur mesure. 

  • Le mot (concept) clé à bien comprendre 

Un unique mot clé c’est difficile!

Le concept clé c’est la notion de ‘prédictif’, ce qui suppose du machine learning  et donc de l’intelligence artificielle. 

Predict est un objet communicant, il permet la remontée d’informations dans le cloud, avec de l’Intelligence Artificielle embarquée dans les capteurs qui traite la donnée acquise par  le micro et , les accéléromètres… 

Ce capteur est et simple à utiliser tout en regroupant  plusieurs technologies embarquées pour une maintenance prédictive efficace.

  •  L’argument clé, LA vraie différence sur le marché 

Notre principale valeur ajoutée repose sur la combinaison en un seul capteur de deux modes d’utilisation possibles : mode simple avec la détection d’anomalie pour surveiller les machines sans connaissance en analyse vibratoire et mode expert pour accéder aux données brutes et en faire l’analyse soi même. Le tout en un seul capteur et sans avoir à réaliser des mesures spécifiques complémentaires. 

C’est une vrai différence et cela correspond à notre philosophie “L’intelligence artificielle c’est bien, l’intelligence humaine, c’est mieux” 

Il s’agit d’une solution conçue au service de l’humain, pour permettre sa compréhension des éléments qui amènent le capteur à identifier un dysfonctionnement. L’intelligence artificielle permet d’identifier une anomalie mais la possibilité de récupérer les données permet l’appropriation de l’analyse par les techniciens.

LES PORTEURS DE PROJET

  • Parcours, associés, partenaires …

Fin  2015, Alexis Vlandas chercheur au CNRS et Nicolas Côté, enseignant chercheur en école d’ingénieurs, lancent un projet de recherche sur un système de capteurs acoustique des  nuisances sonores dans le cadre de la ville intelligente. 

Quelques mois plus tard, Marion Aubert diplômée de Sciences Po et d’HEC, s’intéresse à cette recherche en imaginant qu’elle puisse donner lieu à la création d’une start up. Elle n’a pas le profil  scientifique ce qui lui permet d’apporter un autre regard sur le développement stratégique de Wavely. Ce qui l’a motivée ? Une rencontre, un bon feeling et aussi l’envie de prendre un chemin ‘hard technology’ et industriel, loin des sentiers souvent tracés pour les femmes.

Alexis apporte son regard scientifique sur l’évolution de la solution.  Nicolas est spécialisé sur les dimensions techniques de traitement des données et de l’acoustique.  Marion, elle, est axée commercial et finances. 

En 2017, la start up Wavely est créée après un pivot concernant le marché auquel elle entendait s’adresser :  la ville intelligente n’est pas encore un marché mature, en tout cas pas sur les questions de nuisances sonores. En revanche,  la détection par le bruit est un véritable enjeu industriel. La maintenance prédictive industrielle sera donc le coeur d’activités de Wavely.

Le monde de la recherche est passionné par la technique, la compréhension en profondeur…   mais il s’arrête à la faisabilité. Nous avions envie d’aller jusqu’à la  transformation en produits technologique et technique complexes en réponse à un besoin client.

Wavely a affiné son positionnement lors de son incubation à Euratechnologies à Lille puis a réalisé une levée de fonds via Finovam et Fira, auquel s’est ajouté le soutien de Bpifrance. 

2017 marquera la vraie accélération avec la signature d’un contrat avec le bureau d’études acoustiques Sim Engineering pour le compte de Total concernant la détection de fuites de gaz par l’acoustique.

  • Les  enjeux 

Il s’agit de passer de l’innovation de laboratoire à un produit confronté au marché. Et puis aussi de créer une entreprise en phase avec nos valeurs. 

Nous avions tous les trois une vision commune de ce que devait être une entreprise du point de vue social, écologique, de respect de l’équilibre entre vie professionnelle et personnelle… nous avions envie de montrer qu’on peut faire une entreprise respectueuse de ces valeurs sans tomber dans le cliché de la start up “babyfoot/burn out”. Nous faisons une large place à la confiance en nos collaborateurs, avec beaucoup d’autonomie et de responsabilité, des horaires souples dans  le respect de leur vie privée. La partie de Babyfoot l’après midi pour terminer ensuite à 22h, ça peut être sympa mais ce n’est pas notre modèle :  rentrer chez soi pour profiter de sa vie perso, c’est important pour chacun. Nous avons aussi envie de travailler sur des sujets de fond avec une volonté d’exemplarité que nous visons mais sur laquelle nous avons encore beaucoup de travail : sur le cycle de vie des produits par exemple et notamment leur devenir, sur l’origine des composants, sur les conditions de traitement des données issues de l’IA …

Nous voulons conduire notre entreprise en limitant notre propre  empreinte…

  • Le truc qui les passionne 

Aller au bout du bout du travail de recherche, en répondant à une vraie problématique client

  • L’idée reçue qui les exaspère : 

Autour de l’intelligence Artificielle, il y a une forme de croyance que c’est magique, c’est comme une boîte noire, qu’on ne comprend pas vraiment, dont on se demande à quoi elle sert …  En fait, ce n’est ni plus ni moins qu’un outil . 

Notre volonté est de réussir à montrer qu’elle peut être appliquée à des problèmes concrets du technicien et surtout que cela ne va pas le remplacer mais plutôt l’aider. 

L’AVENIR 

  • Ce que représente la sélection par GRDF dans le développement de l’activité 

Pouvoir expérimenter un cas d’usage avec GRDF serait un  bel exemple, une référence intéressante. Nous avons beaucoup travaillé avec des entreprises du secteur énergétique, collaborer avec GRDF serait très cohérent. De plus, le biométhane est un sujet d’avenir et pour Wavely,  contribuer à ça, ce serait  super intéressant 

  • Les grands défis du secteur en général 

Pour la maintenance, le vrai sujet c’est l’instrumentation pour la surveillance d’équipements : moins de fuite (économie d’énergie), durée de vie des machines … Les enjeux sont à la fois économiques et écologiques.

Pour l’énergie,  l’impact écologique des installations de production est important, avec les questions notamment de  limitation des fuites et de sécurité. Pour le biométhane, compte tenu de la  décentralisation des unités, il n’est pas possible d’avoir des techniciens partout et  tout le temps, il faut donc des solutions délocalisées.

  • Et plus particulièrement, leurs principaux enjeux pour demain ?

Nous avons beaucoup développé le sur-mesure pour les grands comptes, tout en affinant la solution Wavely Predict. Notre enjeu est aujourd’hui de commercialiser Wavely Predict tout en poursuivant son évolution vers de nouvelles fonctionnalités en phase avec less besoins spécifiques. Notre ambition est de passer de la détection d’anomalie au diagnostic (identifier la source du problème), c’est là dessus que nous travaillons. 

Notre développement international se fait actuellement par le biais de nos clients français qui vendent à l’étranger.

CLIN D’OEIL // EXPERIENCE ENTREPRENEUR

  • Ils vont pitcher devant le jury GRDF prochainement, ce n’est sans doute pas la première fois,  une anecdote à partager ?

Alors, d’expérience, si on peut éviter les questions spécifiquement féminines, je veux bien ! Je veux parler du projet comme les autres (et les hommes) pas des problématiques des femmes dans l’industrie ou du cumul des rôles ! (Marion Aubert)

  • Votre première pensée chaque matin ?  

J’ai de la chance !

  • Votre  première véritable satisfaction professionnelle

Le premier contrat signé avec Sim Engineering pour Total ! (Marion)

La première remontée de datas issues des capteurs qui donne vie au projet (Nicolas)

  • Le meilleur encouragement que vous ayez jamais reçu ?

Celui de nos mentors pendant l’incubation. Quand des entrepreneurs expérimentés nous rappellent que c’est dur pour tout le monde, que c’est normal de traverser des étapes en forme de vagues et qu’il faut tenir bon, ca fait du bien au moral !

  • Votre mantra ou la phrase que vous répétez souvent

“ Forget the mistake, remember the lesson”

  • Une qualité personnelle qui vous définit bien

L’Intelligence collective 

  • Un petit message pour séduire le jury ? 

Nous sommes à votre écoute !